Rainy at Fushimi Inari Taisha


Inari or Inari Okami is a Japanese god of foxes and Fushimi Inari Taisha(伏見稲荷大社) located at the South part of Kyoto is the head shrine of Inari.

If you have watched Memoirs of the Geisha, where young Sayuri was running among red gates then you have seen a glimpse of Fushimi Inari Taisha.

I remember the first time I visited the place, years ago I was in awe of the gates that are place all the way to the top of the mountain. We got there a little before 7pm so it was a very interesting experience. I think the main temple was already close but the way to the mountain was not since there are people living on top of it. It was dark but we made it safely to the top and the night view of Kyoto was beautiful.

Early this month I joined a group of amazing people to take a walk starting from the Fushimi Inari Taisha to Chushojima. There was big snow storm the night before and then the next day, it rained and snow so it was really cold but it did not stop us.

The whole group in front of Inari Taisha. Can you find me?

Fushimi Inari Taisha
Entering the Shrine Vicinity. The roof is still covered in snow.

Fox Statue @ Fushimi Inari Taisha
The Fox Guarding the  Main Shrine. No taking of picture of the Main Shrine.

The Fox @ Fushimi Inari Taisha
The other Fox and this one is holding a stalk of golden rice grain.

Gates @ Fushimi Inari Taisha
The gates. Choose which way to go. Can you find Sayurin?

Gates @ Fushimi Inari Taisha Kyoto
The Side. It’s a long way.

Gates and a girl in Kimono @ Fushimi Inari Taisha
A girl in Kimono.

Wet gates @ Fushimi Inari Taisha
Water Dripping.

There are several ways to go there. If you are coming from Kyoto, Take JR Nara Line and stop at Inari Station. From Kyobashi or Yodoyabashi Station in Osaka you can take Keihan line bound for Demachiyanagi and stop at Fushimi Inari Station. There is also a bus from JR Kyoto Station but it leaves every hour only, a bit inconvenient so taking the train is the best way to go.

If you visit this place, try to walk all the way to the top of the mountain and check out the view of Kyoto City.

Till the next Kyoto adventure.

Categories: Life In Japan, Structures, Temples, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Rainy at Fushimi Inari Taisha

  1. I was there!! I stood in the exact same spot with the two directions and thought to myself… which way? Then just after I came back to Canada after my trip, “Memoirs..” came out and I almost yelled in the theatre… I was there!!! 😀

    • I’m glad it brings back good (I hope) memories of your visit here before. I never get tired of visiting the place, the red gates seems to draw me in 🙂

      • Wonderful memories! Thanks so much 😀

        I stayed in a ryokan near the train station there, so I was able to easily walk up to the shrine. It was late October 2005, so on top of the vibrant colour of the torii gates, there were the changing leaves. Absolutely beautiful!

  2. Lovely picture!

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

