Train Musings: Why Japan?


I can’t count how many times I’ve been ask this question and I noticed that my answers changed as times goes by. 

My usual answer was either language, culture and work. I wanted to improve my Japanese, I want to experience Japanese culture and I found an oppurtunity to work here. 

A friend asked this question again a few weeks ago, but he quickly rephrase it “What made you decide to stay this long in Japan?”.  Why indeed? 

I was about to give him the same answer and I paused, Why indeed? 

Safety. I think you can disagree that Japan is probably on of the safest country in the world. Here I can travel alone without worries. I can sleep on the train and not be concerned that somebody will pick my bags. I guess I can go on and on. 

I only gave this one word answer and he understood. 

Categories: Life In Japan | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Train Musings: Why Japan?

  1. I never thought that would be a defining factor for where I lived until I had a daughter. Now, I worry about having to leave Japan because – in comparison to many other places – her life here is one of security and lack of fear. As a mother, that is a STRONG reason for why I want to stay for sure!

  2. Japan is indeed the safest and also the healthiest country in the world and I feel less and less going abroad, even back home!

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

