Train Musings: Makeup on the Train


No matter how many times I’ve seen it, I’m always amaze by Japanese ladies putting makeup on a moving train and as I’m writing this post, the girl in front of me is putting on her makeup. 

Makeup Story 1: On a crowded Subway

I was on my way to work, and can barely moved inside the train but the girl beside me is putting on eye liner. As the train swayed, I glanced at her to check if she has punctured her eye with eye liner(pencil type) but to my amazement she was still putting it on. 

Makeup Story 2:

I was using the womens only car and kept on seeing this lady on the same car on the same time in the morning. One day, while standing in the middle of the train car she pulled out her liquid foundation and started puttinh it on and without a mirror too. Fifteen minutes, we also got off at the same station, she had her blush on , eye shadow, lipstick and was ready to conquer the day.

Makeup Story 3:

It was a weekend so the train was not crowded but all the seats were taken. I stood in front of a girl who was busily putting on some face powder. As the train was moving, she pulled out some fake eyelashes and put it on in a few seconds. When I got off my stop, she was still looking at her mirror, not the compact type, making sure there was nothing amiss.

Happy putting on makeup 🙂

Categories: Life In Japan | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Train Musings: Makeup on the Train

  1. Laura Steurer

    I can’t even imagine needing to catch a train, subway, cab or bus to go to work. In my area everyone has their own car, some carpool but mostly it’s single drivers. Of couse there are cabs and city buses, but I don’t live in the city anymore and when I did they were always so dirty and nasty you didn’t dare pull out anything that you might drop (yuck!). So ya better have your stuff together before you head out the door cause the police don’t care if you’re running late and need to apply makeup.

    • The public transportation in Japan is one of the best in the world and clean. It’s also cheaper and faster to use than cars. Unless there is an accident or a jumper, I don’t need to worry about traffic.

  2. A gal’s gotta do what she’s gotta do….

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

