Book : The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry


  When Harold Fry nips out one morning to post a letter, leaving his wife hoovering upstairs, he has no idea that he is about to walk from one end of the country to the other. He has no hiking boots or map, let alone a compass, waterproof or mobile phone. All he knows is that he must keep walking. To save someone else’s life.

I could not put it down.

I love long walks and to read something about someone, even though it’s a fictional character walking to his destination is amazing. The longest walk I’ve done so far is around 25 KM or 15.5 miles but unlike Harold Fry , I have my gadgets to help me navigate and a proper shoes.  Before I got a smartphone, I used to walk just following where the train line is running and sometimes I get lost and find something new and interesting.

I guess that is what Life is all about. We either put one foot forward and move on and deal with our crap or stop where we are and forget about living.

Long walks does brings back lots of memories. It gives you a new perspective on how to deal with different aspect in your life. You will notice that even as you stop living , the world around you continues.

Real character or not, Mr. Fry is definitely an inspiration.

My fave passage:

Everyone is the same and also unique that is the dilemma of being human. “

Categories: Books | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

