Winter 2013 : Takayama


After returning to the town center of Takayama from touring Gokayama and Shirakawago, its time to explore some of the historical places around the station.

First stop is SanMachi or Furui-Machi-Nami. The village is just a few minutes (approx 10 minutes) from JR Takayama Station. Basically you can just follow some of the tourist going to the place or you can ask for direction from the Tourist information just outside the station.

In the village you can find some old merchants houses, sake breweries that are still there after all this year. It’s feels great just walking around enjoying the atmosphere and wondering what stories these streets, walls and houses could tell.
Around Takayama
Let the adventure begin..

Around Takayama
Selling some cute Takayama trinkets

Around Takayama
The sign says, “Hida Nama Soba”.

Around Takayama
I think this is a private residence.

Around Takayama
Selling “Mitarashi Dango”. A pounded sticky rice shaped into a circle in most cases, grill and dipped into a sweetened soy sauce.

Around Takayama
Old wooden barrel used for storing Miso and Soy Sauce. I forgot the name of the store, but they were selling some really good but a little expensive soy sauce.

Around Takayama
One of the local Sake Brewery

Around Takayama
A local Museum , unfortunately it was already close.

The adventure would not be complete if I did not try some of the local treats, right ? 🙂
Hida Gyu(Beef) Meat bun
A local meat bun made from Hida Gyu(Beef). It was good but a bit dry, I still like the 551 Meat Bun in Osaka.

I was walking aimlessly and I found the gate to the temple which houses all the festival floats but again it was already close.

Around Takayama
The gate near the road.

Around Takayama
Entering the temple now.

Around Takayama
Gate lining up , a view from the temple offering box.

Around Takayama
The deity with a sword. SMITE!!

I was getting hungry and it was getting darker so I went to look for a nice local place to eat, something nice and warm since it was also getting colder but along the way I found these two strange statue along the bridge.
Around Takayama
This one with a very long feet.

Around Takayama
And this one with a very long hand.
I tried looking for a description on what they are but I could not find any.

Around Takayama
I also found chibi-ultraman guarding a circular postal box.

Around Takayama
Around town, you will encounter this weird looking doll called Sarubobo which means “Monkey Baby”. I don’t find it cute though, it looks creepy without a face.

I finally found a nice family owned restaurant and had a really nice dinner of Hida Gyu(Beef) Croquet.
Hida Gyu Croquet

It was a great day indeed. I have seen all the places that I have been wanting to see and more.

Categories: Buildings, Structures, Temples, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Winter 2013 : Takayama

  1. Natsukashii!!!
    I went and visited there many years ago in the early 1990s!

    • wow, i wonder how much have change around town since that time 🙂
      i’m glad this post bring back some of the memories of your visit 🙂

  2. I went to Takayama a few years ago and stayed in an onsen. It was an awesome experience seeing how the modern world still existed within the old world and the efforts that were made to maintain the link to the past. This post brings back good memories of a nice little trip.

    • It’s really amazing that a few minutes from the station where everything is modern, then you will get transported to old Takayama and walk along its streets.
      Staying in an onsen would really be cool, a bit pricey I think but definitely worth it 🙂

      • I didn’t stay at an expensive onsen, but just one that the regular Japanese travelers would go to. I was the only Westerner in the place, and the hosts didn’t speak English. Great experience, and I felt very out of place not knowing all the Japanese customs.

        • Wow that would have been a great find. An inexpensive onsen place, I did not have much time to look for a place to stay but the one I found was really cheap but still nice.
          In my experience, they are more than willing to help a foreigner in need. I do believe that an Onsen experience is definitely a must when visiting Japan. 🙂

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

