Winter 2013 : 10 Hours train ride to somewhere


Yes, you probably think I’m crazy but that was how long it took me to get to my destination last winter break. Of course I was using the Seishun 18 ticket, so basically I can only use the trains that does not require any extra fee, mostly local on this trip.

I had no regrets though, it was a very scenic and relaxing train ride. I passed several prefectures before finally arriving to my final destination.

The train finally arrived in Kamo(加茂) Station in Kyoto Prefecture that will take all the way to Kameyama(亀山) Station, Mie Prefecture.
En Route

Sunrise while en route to Kameyama Station.
En Route

Going deeper to the mountain area of Mie Prefecture , everything was blanketed in snow.
En Route

Even the rail tracks were covered in snow
En Route

The train to Kameyama was a one-manned train and only 2 cars. The train ride was about an hour and 30 minutes and had to wait in Kameyama Station for 24 minutes for the next train to Nagoya.

The train to Nagoya was slowly filled up with people as we pass along the Mie Prefecture so I did not have much room to move around the train to take some picture. It was still scenic though but no snow. The ride was about an hour and 20 minutes and had to wait about 7 minutes for the my next train to Gifu and then change again to another train for Minoota Station(美濃太田)

While going to Minoota, I noticed that some of the stations are unmanned, just like the way to Takeda. Passengers need to pay at front of the train directly to the driver based on where you get on.
En Route

The ride to Minoota was only 30 minutes but unfortunately, the train was late for about 20 minutes. I have to wait for 82 minutes in Minoota for the last train transfer so it was not that bad. I did not find any convenience store or any cheap places to eat like Yoshinoya or Matsuya, fortunately though the hotel in front of the station have a lunch buffet for 1200 yen including drinks so I ate the much needed sustenance and have coffee.

Slowly entering the mountain area of Gifu Prefecture.
En Route

Snow covered station
En Route

One station away to my final stop, the train have to wait for the Limited express train for about 20 minutes. Had a few minutes to walk around and enjoy the view. Can you figure out where I’m going now? 🙂

En Route

Panoramic View around the station.
En Route

I arrived about 40 minutes late than my original ETA but it was okay. Oh and yes I am in snowy Takayama City , Gifu Prefecture.

Shinkansen or Bullet trains are fast and can take you from destination A to B but it does not have any views compared to the local train ride. It does need a lot of patience though and correct timing to connect your train or it will be another hour or two before the next train especially if you are crossing one Prefecture to the next. BUT if you have time, it is definitely worth a try.

Categories: Landscape, Life In Japan, Trains, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Winter 2013 : 10 Hours train ride to somewhere

  1. Absolutely fantastic. Another part of Japan I love is going on slow, local trains, the fewer carriages the better.
    The route you describe from Nagoya to Takayama I have been lucky enough to take – in the express train and using my very useful JR Pass as a visitor. A beautiful journey following rivers for much of the journey.
    Tony

    • I think there is only one route from Nagoya to Takayama, so it is probably the same :). There is really something special riding this kind of train, it’s more romantic :).

  2. I loved to make the trip thru Your beautiful photos.

  3. You are not crazy! The point is to enjoy your trip! Well done!

  4. I loved taking the trains in Japan, though I was always on the Shinkansen. Beautiful photos!

    • Thank you. Shinkansen is still the best option to travel around Japan when you are on a short trip, and I love using it too. 🙂

Any thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

