A Million Thank You


Day 6 after Typhoon Haiyan locally known as Yolanda visited the Philippines where it left thousand of families homeless and thousand dead. I was planning to rant about how the government was so slow to react but instead of focusing on the negative side first , I would like to say a very BIG THANK YOU for the all the help that the international community has extended to my country. 20131114-092217.jpg

I did not make this, somebody posted this on FB but I think all citizens in the Philippines share my sentiments and gratitude to all the country that helped us when we needed it most.

My family are all safe and sound. A relative’s house got blown away but everybody is still safe. The house can be rebuild. Friend’s family who live on the islands directly on the Typhoon’s path were finally able to contact their respective family after days of waiting. Nobody among my friend’s family were injured or hurt.

Unfortunately thousands are still trying to contact or search for family members.

There are several bad/negative news already in some areas where relief goods were not distributed properly or not distributed at all because of political reasons. BUT even still I was moved by number of people who gave their time and resources to help the victims in every way they can.

The humanitarian effort is amazing.

The rehabilitation/recovery process is  long and hard but I know that we as a Filipino will pull this through , we always have.

For those who wish to help in kind , please visit the Red Cross Philippines.

 

Categories: Life In Japan | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “A Million Thank You

  1. So glad to hear all is well with your loved ones. My thoughts are with all of those affected.

  2. I’m so glad to hear your family and friends are safe. I’ve been thinking about you!

  3. It’s sad and wonderful at the same time how natural disasters can bring people together for the greater good. I always hope that we can learn from these times and apply them to everyday life. Thanks for sharing. My thoughts are with the people.

    • It is. It was amazing that countries from all over the world responded so fast. There is still hope for humanity.

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

