Cafe Matsuontoko


I am not a vegan , vegetarian or wathever-tarian but Cafe Matsuontoko located in Kyoto was really good and their burger tasted like meat.

20131104-161940.jpg

S and I got lost and took a wrong turn but with the help of a local staff in one of the stores, we found the place. It was cozy and most of all , NO SMOKING.

20131104-161920.jpg

It was our first time so we were both cautious and decided to order a burger set. I got the Nanban Burger with Tartar Sauce and S got the Avocado Burger.  The burger itself was not that big but it was so good. I think I finished it in less than 2 minutes and of course with all the walking I did that day, I was famished. The staff can also speak some English so you can ask what they used if you have some allergy or on strict Vegan diet. But one thing I can stay, when I am in Kyoto, I will definitely go back there and try some of their other burger.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. dragonlife says:

    All right this is the answer to one of my questions! I will add you Food & Drink Bloggers in Japan!
    You should come to Shizuoka where it is fast becoming fashionable not to smoke!

    1. samokan says:

      oh wow, thank you very much. I hope Osaka will follow the trend.

      1. dragonlife says:

        The pleasure is all mine!

  2. TBM says:

    I’m not vegan either, but do enjoy eating vegan food on occasion. the avocado burger sounds yummy right now. I’m still amazed with smoking in restaurants. Hadn’t had to deal with that since the mid-90s to late-90s

    1. samokan says:

      That is one problem here in Japan, smoking in restaurants. Unfortunately though it’s not going away anytime soon.
      I am not an avocado fan, but it really did actually looked really yummy, I might try it next time when I’m in Kyoto.

Any thoughts?

