Manhole : Oyamazaki and Shimamoto


We went again to the Suntory Whiskey Factory and this time I made sure that I have some manhole pictures of the area.

20130910-150415.jpg

Nice and Color Fire truck design.

20130910-150409.jpgShimamoto, If you look closely at the design, there is a flower design which is actually the areas flower: Yamabuki ( Kerria or Japanese Yellow Rose). Then there is a river or stream coming from the mountain and on the bottom area ( near where the characters are), I think these are fireflies.

20130910-150403.jpgA few minutes walk away from where I found Shimamoto manhole cover, I found Oyamazakicho one. The bird is the city’s symbol called Uguisu or Japanese Nightingale. Then Sakura or Cherry Blossom which is the area’s flower symbol. I think the other side is the tree which is Akamatsu or Japanese Red Pine. So in this one cover alone, you will know the area’s bird, flower and tree symbol.

Categories: Manhole Cover | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Manhole : Oyamazaki and Shimamoto

  1. TBM

    So interesting. I need to pay closer attention when I travel.

    • It is, I found a nice in San Francisco but I think most countries are not that keen with manhole designs compared to Japan 🙂

  2. Fabulous finds and photos.

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

