Adventuring in California


I am currently having an adventure here in California for the next few days but unfortunately I won’t have regular access to an internet and computer so you will hear all the details when I return to Osaka 😉

Left Osaka noon of August 3, 2013 and arrived at San Francisco Int’l Airport around 1:30 Pm and met up with J who I have not seen in the last 10 years and R in the last 2 years. Summer in San Francisco felt like Spring in Japan. The sun was up and temperature at 16 degree Celsius. I love it.

Without further ado, we immediately set off to see Golden Gate bridge. I think everybody wants to go out and enjoy the beautiful so the 20 minutes drive to the bridge turned into about and hour or so. We did took a short detour somewhere in the Wharf for grab some late lunch and I finally had an In and Out cheese burger. It was chaos inside the store but we did got our order in less than 30 minutes. I got me a cheese burger and it was good.

When we got to the bridge, fog was slowly creeping in. My host decided to cross the bridge and go directly to Vista Point since there was less traffic there.

20130804-031415.jpg

Hello San Francisco 🙂

20130804-031647.jpg

We tried walking to the bridge , but it got really windy so after a few shot , we returned to Vista Point parking area and took more pictures. R suggested to go to Sausalito and J was more than willing to go since he has never been there before even after all these years in San Francisco.

We got some of the famous ice cream in the area and found this amazing
artist who balanced rocks.

20130804-032303.jpg

The artist hard at work. I don’t know how he do it but it was amazing to see his work .

20130804-032438.jpg
Some of his amazing works. He sells picture of his work at 2 dollars a piece.

20130804-032606.jpg
Decided to get adventurous with my ice cream flavor. This one is called Kuapai and its a mixture of coffee, choco fudge, almond nuts and coconut ice cream. It was too big for me and was only able to finish about half of it. Still trying to get use to American food sizes 🙂

Next agenda, a Filipino dinner with my former colleague and their respective families. There were a total of 14 people including 4 kids. Good thing it was a Filipino restaurant cause we were definitely the noisiest batch there 🙂 It was a lovely dinner and the food was really really good.

20130804-033543.jpg
Instead of ordering separate dish, it was decided to get a party special. There was more than enough for everybody.

20130804-033725.jpg
For dessert, G another former colleague , decided to try the Coconut consenta. It was good but definitely a little weird.

Good company and good food, time really flies so fast, the next thing we knew it was already past 10 in the evening. The 2 youngest kids were already dozing off so we decided to break our little get together. I was really happy to see them again.

If you want to try some good Filipino food in the area, I highly recommend trying ISLA restaurant located somewhere in San Bruno.

My first day in of my vacation turned out really well, more than well. 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Sweet, enjoy Cali. And I agree, those rocks were amazing.

    1. samokan says:

      Thanks , having a great time 🙂

  2. stillstella says:

    You are so lucky to live in Osaka” I hope Ill visit it soon. Enjoy California!

    1. samokan says:

      Thank you 🙂

  3. LindaGHill says:

    Tempting me with ice cream again… 🙂 Those rocks are amazing!!!
    Have fun in California!

    1. samokan says:

      yes there will be more ice cream pictures to come.

      the rocks are really amazing, and yes I will have loads of adventure soon 🙂

Any thoughts?

