Solo Autumn Hike


This was back in 2007.

It rained around noon so I though I would have to cancel it but by 2 PM it stopped so I ran immediately to the nearest train station and took the train bound for Kyoto.  My final destination is located in the north part of Kyoto , so I have to transfer to two more trains to get there.

When I reached Kibune-guchi Station, it was around 3:30 PM already. Most people would take the bus from the station to Kibune Shrine but when I saw the colors of the trees and since it just rained it looks so fresh, I decided to take  a stroll instead.

kifune_03I was not alone  in my thinking. There were few people also who decided to enjoy nature instead of the bus ride.

kifune_01

Maples all so red. Autumn is really one of my favorite season.

I reached the shrine in less than 30 minutes.  It was really a lovely walk. Fresh air, beautiful nature all free, what more could you ask for.

kifune_02

I visited the shrine and as I was walking back to the station, I noticed some hikers coming out from the mountain and some people going in. In seems that there was a trail from Kibune to Kurama. The route was not free though, I think it was about 200 yen to use the trail.  It was already past 4 PM and the lady was not letting anybody in anymore but I was able to convince her that I will be out in the mountain before it gets dark, so she said yes and even gave me a 50% discount.

The trail was steep but it was short so I just run all the way up.  This was back in 2007, I was still young and can do this running on steep trail , maybe not now 🙂 .

Anyway, as soon as I came out from the mountain, I was greeted with a very beautiful and colorful mountains of Kyoto.

kurama_01

kurama_02

It was a nice day and I was glad I made the decision to go through with my plan. As I was making my way to train , I did not know that another surprise was waiting for me.

All seats were already taken when I got to the train so I stood near the door instead. My camera was already out of battery but I was going home anyway. As soon as the train started I heard about light-up announcement and everybody got excited. I did not get it at first but it seems that in some areas, the train would turn off the lights inside to get a much more cleared view of the trees. Lights were strategically placed around the trees and the train slowed down to let us enjoy the view. It was amazing. The trees looks so beautiful.

It was a lovely day indeed.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Gorgeous photography!

    1. samokan says:

      thank you very much

  2. TBM says:

    Sounds like a great day and I’m glad the lady let you hike. Wonderful photos.

    1. samokan says:

      I must have been very convincing that time 🙂

      Thanks.

Any thoughts?

