Comfort Food: Bicol Express


I have never been to the Bicol Region of the Philippines and the only time I have eaten Bicol Express is from a canned version sold in the supermarket. It was deliciously spicy. Then my cousin also made some before following some recipe(I think) but it was much better than the canned version. I tried experimenting it a few weeks ago, I got the level of spiciness that I want but it did not feel quiet right yet, though i really don’t have anything to compare it with.

I found another recipe and when I found some chili ( not that spicy) on sale last night, I have to try it again.  It was not as spicy as the first one but definitely taste much much better.

20130618-091914.jpg

The original recipe used pork which I changed into chicken. Instead of using 2 cans of coconut milk, i only used 1 and added some mushroom. A really good meal on a hot humid day, makes you sweat more :D. My tummy is happy and that’s all that matters.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. TBM says:

    Yum! I like spicy, but not too spicy. This may be perfect for me.

    1. samokan says:

      the dish is fairly easy to make , the coconut helps soften the spiciness a bit.

Any thoughts?

