Comfort Food: The Healthy Burger


Been craving some greasy food lately, but since I am trying to get rid of some extra pound, I have to find an alternative. While trying to understand some android terms, I goggled some possible healthy ways to make a burger, a Tofu Burger.

I made several changes and added more veggie to it.

  1. 1 block Tofu
  2. Kikuna ( Edible Chrysanthemum)
  3. Carrots
  4. Mushroom
  5. Onion
  6. Garlic
  7. Salt and Pepper
  • It is best if the Tofu is drained of its liquid properly. Unfortunately I did not have much time with me, so basically I just drained the liquid and pat it dry as much as I can.
  • Saute onions and mushroom together, till the onion is transparent.
  • To make it faster, put everything in a food processor and pulse it to your desired consistency.
  • After everything was mixed properly, add salt and pepper to taste.
  • My mixture was a little wet than necessary so I added half a cup of cornstarch and 1 cup of bread crumbs.
  • Shape into a patty and coat it in bread crumbs.
  • Fry till golden brown on both sides.

20130520-103542.jpgHere it is, slowly cooking.

20130520-103550.jpgSpread some thai chili sauce on it and some chopped cherry tomatoes.

Instead of eating it with bread, I ate it with some veggie salad. More veggie yehey. Anyways, it was really good and very easy to prepare.

Categories: Life In Japan | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Comfort Food: The Healthy Burger

  1. That sounds good. Will have to remember that the next time I want a burger.

  2. Looks yummy!

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

