I want to ride my bicycle


Another mode of transportation in Japan is bicycle.  Trains get you to your destination fast and safe but if you don’t want to pay enormous amount of money for a small apartment , it will take you at least 15-20 minutes away from a train station.

I love my place right now, its spacious , have a big balcony and has a view of Mt. Ikoma. Most of all, its cheap. Unfortunately, it will take me 15-20 minutes walk to get to the nearest station. For 2 years, work is just 15 minutes by bicycle , no trains and the company have a free parking space for bicycle but now that I have to move to a new working place, I have to take the train.

Train stations in Japan don’t have free parking space. Everything is paid. You can pay daily or monthly. So right now I am paying around $20 for a space for my bicycle near the train station.

So why I am talking about this bicycle parking? Well I noticed a lot of construction along the side of the road in the city of Osaka. It seems that they are turning this spaces into daily parking area for bicycle, it’s about 150 yen , about $2 for 24 hours. Not bad.

20130405-124833.jpg

Unfortunately, there are still some who forced to park illegally 🙂

20130405-124840.jpg

 

Categories: Life In Japan | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “I want to ride my bicycle

  1. o.O Wow, that’s sooo different from the parking attitudes here, haha!

    • You have to because it is also expensive to pay the fine when your bicycle get caught by the “bicycle police” and troublesome cause you need to go get it in the storage location which is different for each area. Then you have to tell them when your bicycle got caught and start looking amidst hundreds of bike. Too troublesome 🙂

  2. Interesting. Sounds like an expensive city.

    • It is, but compare to Tokyo , Osaka is still cheaper.

      • Do you know how it compares to London or NYC? I find both of those cities pretty expensive. Haven’t been to Osaka yet so I’m not sure. Oh, Oslo, Norway is extremely expensive.

        • I have never been to London or NYC yet but if you are a tourist it might get pretty expensive, but if you are already living and working here it is not really. It will also depend upon the location too.

      • Thanks!

Any thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

