Weekly Photo Challenge : Future Tense

on

Uranai(占い)  or Fortune Telling is a big thing in Japan. You can find it in almost all temples around the country. Some temple in Kyoto, I think Kinkaju, even have an English version. Mostly it is just a little piece of rolled or folder paper but this one in Amanohashidate is in a fan form. Though it is a little bit more pricey than the normal one, but it is still cute.

If you don’t like what is written , you can just leave it tied to one of trees or shrub around the temple.

amanohashidate_uranai

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I’d love to go there! “Fortune-telling” is one of my favorite topics. 😀

    1. samokan says:

      I usually get one at the beginning of the year, I find it amusing 🙂

  2. mumox says:

    nice idea..

  3. poetinside says:

    What can be better than choosing what we like

    1. samokan says:

      Exactly 🙂

  4. Veronica Roth says:

    Oh I like that, it’s like me reading the horoscopes and if I don’t like what the Cancer one says I just read the Aquarius! 🙂

    1. samokan says:

      True, you can choose what you like 🙂

Any thoughts?

