Butter Chicken without the Butter


I have been running out of ideas for a delicious dinner for T and me so I have been searching for healthy and yet easy to prepare meals around the blogsphere.

A few weeks ago Bernice published this really delicious chicken recipe called Butter Chicken – Murgh Makhani. The problem is I don’t know where to find a Tandoori Spice, luckily last night while I was looking for something else in a nearby supermarket they have a tandoori spice chicken mix available for 100 yen (approximately $1).

I don’t have ginger and garlic paste, so I used freshly grated ginger and minced garlic instead and marinated the chicken overnight.

Marinade:

  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp of freshly grated ginger
  • 1/2 tsp of minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp of tandoori spice, or in my case a packet of the tandoori spice chicken mix
  • 2 tsp of lemon juice
  • 1 pound of chicken thigh, boneless and chopped

I placed the chicken in a ziploc and pour the marinade over and make sure it got mixed really well inside the plastic. Marinade for a few hours or overnight.

 

I changed a lot on the sauce part and added some mushroom and use green onions instead of coriander.

Here are the ingredients for the sauce part on my version:

  • olive oil
  • minced garlic
  • minced onions
  • freshly grated ginger
  • diced tomato ( i used 3 big tomato )
  • a pinched of salt
  • black pepper
  • chili powder
  • mushroom
  • spring onions
  1. Saute onions and garlic in olive oil till its nice and transparent.
  2. Add tomato , you can crushed it if you like then add the ginger.
  3. Add the chicken including the marinade, black pepper, chili powder and salt
  4. Simmer until chicken is cooked and add mushroom and let it simmer for a minute or two just until the mushroom is cooked
  5. Garnished it with spring onions

It was so good. And since I marinated it overnight, the chicken tasted so much better. I love it. Thank you Bernice for sharing this wonderful recipe.

20130313-124556.jpg

Categories: Life In Japan | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Butter Chicken without the Butter

  1. I’ll have to try making this. It looks really good!

  2. Looks wonderful! That is what I love about cooking. You can take a recipe and make it your own. ๐Ÿ™‚

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

