Disappointed over Kenshin


I am a big fan of the manga and anime Rurouni Kenshin for the past 12 years, so you can just imagined my excitement when a live movie came out last December.  Work has been hectic and planning for the upcoming vacation trip took most of my time , I decided to watch it when I came back from the trip when everything is a little bit calm and my decision was right.

Korean Air had a really some good choices on their in-flight shows and I was surprised that the movie was already there and with an english subtitle too.  Even before the plane took off, I was already playing it.

20 minutes later I was bored to death. It was just too boring that I decided to stop watching it half way. The movie did not have the same intensity as that of the anime. Even when Kenshin switched to his Battousai mode did not really felt like he was in the battousai mode.

The cast, especially Yu Aoi as Megumi was spot on. She was really good, bringing the character to life. Takeru Sato was suprisingly a good choice as Kenshin, but only when he is in his peaceful mode. When he switch to Battousai mode, there is something lacking in his eyes, emotion perhaps? . The hardness, the coldness of being Battousai was just not there. I guess this might be most difficult part to portray but at the same time it is the most crucial.

I guess I just expected too much from the movie. What can I say, I am very big fan of this anime since this is the same anime that made me research more on Japanese History.

Maybe if I watch it the second time, it would not be so bad. I need to watch it whe an open mind, forgetting all the details from the manga and anime , if I can do that maybe I can enjoy it better.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Haruko-chan says:

    I love Kenshin too! For me too, same as you, it was the start of my Japan adventure. It made me start studying Japanese and it taught me a lot about Japanese culture. It’s a shame that the movie doesn’t seem to live up to the anime and manga. I haven’t seen it yet. But it has been ages since I last saw the anime so maybe I will have forgotten enough about it to like the movie 🙂

    1. samokan says:

      give it a go, maybe you will have different experience 🙂

Any thoughts?

