The Art of Tipping


For the most part of my life , I could not afford to go to bar, clubs or eat outside although I do prefer home cooked meals, and I hate crowded and smoky places ( cigarette smokes ) so it was a blessing in disguise to be poor :).

Giving tips in Japan is not a norm. You pay what you eat or drink. If you join a tour you are not expected to give any money or any form of tips to your tour guide. I have stayed in some Ryokan , guest house and business hotel, no tips. You pay the exact amount only. I have also tried ordering online may it be food , household items or liquor; no tips. You pay only what you owe only.

I know that in some parts of the world, even in my own country, people rely on tips for extra cash. The bigger tipper you are the better service you get next time you visit the establishment.

Unfortunately I do not know how much I should give without offending anybody or hurting my wallet ( I don’t have much in there ).

The last time I forgot to prepare the money for tipping our tour guide, T never made me forget about it that it  and made me feel terrible.

So what are the norms for giving tips?

 

Any thoughts?

