No Entry


I was so excited to finally be able to travel outside Japan. Naoko and I planned to have a advance birthday celebration in Taipei. By early May, I have already booked my ticket to Taipei. Naoko decided to extend her stay cause she was also planning to visit her friend Amber.

So we decided that while I was there , we will stay in the same hotel. By late May the hotels were booked. Most of the preparations are done, the only thing left for me to do is to get a visa for Taipei. So I checked the website , and with some tip from a friend I found out that because I have visa in Japan I can get the special authorization permit. The permit is only allowed for a month, so I got it end of June. Everything is ready. I have also informed my office of my plan.

I was so excited to finally be able to travel outside Japan. Naoko and I planned to have a advance birthday celebration in Taipei. By early May, I have already booked my ticket to Taipei. Naoko decided to extend her stay cause she was also planning to visit her friend Amber.

So we decided that while I was there , we will stay in the same hotel. By late May the hotels were booked. Most of the preparations are done, the only thing left for me to do is to get a visa for Taipei. So I checked the website , and with some tip from a friend I found out that because I have visa in Japan I can get the special authorization permit. The permit is only allowed for a month, so I got it end of June. Everything is ready. I have also informed my office of my plan.

Then the fateful day came.

First blooper at the Kansai airport, I totally forgot about the limitation for carrying liquids, so I have no choice but to check-in my backpack and forgot to take out my jacket. Arrived at Taipei around 9:40pm, local time and run to the immigration , then everything just fell apart… They won’t let me in because I don’t have a permanent visa in Japan.

First blooper at the Kansai airport, I totally forgot about the limitation for carrying liquids, so I have no choice but to check-in my backpack and forgot to take out my jacket. Arrived at Taipei around 9:40pm, local time and run to the immigration , then everything just fell apart… They won’t let me in because I don’t have a permanent visa in Japan.

The permit was only allowed if you have a permanent visa. I tried to asked the other immigration officers, one said it should be ok but the other 2 said NO. So I was asked to return to where I came from .

I was too shocked, but tried to talked to them but they would not budge. So I went back to china airlines transfer counter and told them about my predicament. The flight back to Kansai the next day is already full but he was still hopeful I could get in. Since there were more flight leaving for Osaka , he suggested I go to china airline lounge at terminal 1.
My next problem was to inform Naoko and he hotel. I don’t know where I could get if there was a coon changer or where I could get a phone card. The girl in information was very accommodating and very helpful. When I finally reached Naoko, I could not helped my tears, it just started and would not stop. Amber , Naoko’s friend called the hotel and the hotel understood the situation and was very nice not to charged us anything. So the next morning, by 5 am I was back at china airline counter an was so happy that they were able to put on the afternoon flight to osaka. So now I am in the departure area waiting for my flight and can’t wait to get out of Taiwan and be back in my tiny apartment in Osaka.

 

Here is my source on why I applied for the Visa – Exemption.  Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Taiwan.

From the website ;

2.The nationals of India, Thailand, Philippines, Vietnam, Indonesia, who also possess a valid visa or permanent residence certificate issued by U.S.A., Canada, Japan, U.K., Schengen Convention countries, Australia or New Zealand are eligible for the visa exemption program, which permits a duration of stay up to 30 days. Those who meet the above qualification and have never been employed in Taiwan as blue-collar workers, have to apply to the “Advance Online Registration System for the Visitors of Nationals from Four Southeast Asian Countries to Taiwan” of National Immigration Agency for Entry Permit before coming to Taiwan. Upon completion, the printed confirmation is used to validate the traveler during the boarding and the immigration check. During the immigration check, travelers who can not show a valid visa or permanent resident visa issued by one of the aforementioned  countries will not be admitted into the country.

Categories: Life In Japan | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Any thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

